On Haruki Murakami’s After Dark

Setting: Metropolitan Tokyo, early 2000s
Characters: Mari Asai, Eri Asai, Tetsuya Takahashi, Kaoru, Shirakawa, Komugi

Synopsis: 19-year-old Mari Asai was out late one night because she could not sleep. She met her sister’s acquaintance, Tetsuya at a diner. Events unfolded. Kaoru, a love hotel manager, seeks her help when a Chinese prostitute was beaten up.

The story was written in present tense and in the third person point of view. It started with Mari’s encounter with Tetsuya and followed the events till day break. Hence the title – After Dark. The events that took place when the sun is still out. It tapped slightly into the red district of Tokyo where a Chinese prostitute was beaten up at a love hotel. And the world of a Japanese salaryman, Shirakawa, who was only able to come home past midnight. And the strange world of Eri Asai – who is in a never-ending sleep.

Most of Mari Asai’s story takes place in the ‘real world’. And Eri Asai’s part is a mystery. That is how I divided up the book. Mari and Eri’s tales. The book left too many unanswered questions at the end, more than Murakami’s other works. Like, what is “real world”? Is it really “real”? Are Mari Asai’s stories taking place in the real world? Or is it the other way around? What is the relation between the man called Shirakawa and Eri Asai’s condition? Like I said, so many questions.

The way it is written, in present tense, gives me the vibe that I am being carried along as the third person in all the events happening in the book. Like I was there during all the events. It was hard for me to put the book down because I want answers to my questions. The theories built up as I read. And the fact that all the events happen in one night was the charm of this short novel.

The story is laden with symbolism and Murakami quirkiness. However, in comparison to other Murakami’s works, this story has been a simple read. The symbolism and metaphors are pretty mild. But the story does made the reader think. In particular, Eri Asai and her sleeping condition. There is constant why and how. I would love to share my questions and the answers I have come up. But I don’t really want to spoil the book for those who have not read it.

Would I read it again? Yes! Definitely.

Rating:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Simplicity is the keyword for this rating.

Published: 2004 in Japanese, 2007 in English
Translator: Jay Rubin
ISBN No: 1-84655-047-5 (UK)
Length: Short

Leave a comment